The University of Hawai’i John A. Burns School of Medicine Residency Training Program in Obstetrics and Gynecology is located in Honolulu, Hawai’i. The program was originally established in 1949 and is based at Kapi’olani Medical Center for Women & Children with additional rotations at the Queen’s Medical Center and Kaiser Medical Center.

The residency program is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education and approved for a total of 24 resident positions, six at each level of the four-year program. Six new residents are accepted annually through the NRMP to fill the first-year positions. Residents are accepted at other levels only in the unusual event that one of the positions become available.


Ginny Kamikawa – Program Administrator

1319 Punahou Street Suite 824
Honolulu HI 96826
Telephone: 808-203-6518
Fax: 808-955-2174

Mark Hiraoka MD MS – Program Director